Save Massachusetts Forests
Save Massachusetts Forests

           ACTION ALERT Massachusetts Legislature 2021

         Help Protect our Commonwealth's Forests -- How You Can Help 

Sign this letter to the Chairs of the Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture (ENRA),the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Senate President, and Governor Baker. You can sign on here: https://actionnetwork.org/petitions/support-for-massachusetts-house-bills-912-and-1002/

 

Ask your legislators to support these bills if you have not already. Find them here   

https://malegislature.gov/Search/FindMyLegislator

Please forward a copy to us of your comments to legislators. It will benefit the campaign to know what message they are hearing from the public. savemassforests@gmail,com

The two forest protection bills are:

H 912 - An Act Relative to Forest Protection, sponsored by Representative Michael Finn, 6th Hampden District

This bill would designate all 412,000 acres of park, forest, and watershed lands administered by the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation as parks or reserves. It would expand the existing system of parks and reserves where natural processes are allowed to proceed with minimal human management, similar to the stewardship of our National Parks.

The text of the bill can be found here: https://malegislature.gov/Bills/192/H912

H 1002 - An Act Relative to Increased Protection of Wildlife Management Areas, sponsored by Representative Lindsay Sabadosa, 1st Hampshire District

This bill would expand and make permanent the existing system of reserves on public Wildlife Management Areas administered by the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. It would direct the designation by 2030 of at least 30%, or about 51,000 acres, of the agency’s lands, consistent with the latest biological and climate science, and would give these areas permanent protection.

The text of this bill can be found here: https://malegislature.gov/Bills/192/H1002

 ENRA Committee members: 

SENATE

Becca.Rausch@masenate.gov (617) 722-1555 Chair
James.Eldridge@masenate.gov (617) 722-1120 Vice Chair
Jo.Comerford@masenate.gov (617) 722-1532
Michael.Moore@masenate.gov (617) 722-1485
Mike.Rush@masenate.gov (617) 722-1348
Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov (617) 722-1420

HOUSE

Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2680 Chair
mindy.domb@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2400 Vice Chair
carmine.gentile@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2810
daniel.carey@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2060
michelle.ciccolo@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2210
david.robertson@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2210
Paul.Mark@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2304
peter.capano@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2460
Jessica.Giannino@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2800 x7316
norman.orrall@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2090
james.kelcourse@mahouse.gov (617) 722-2130